Neeraj Agarwal, MD, is an Associate Professor in the Division of Oncology, Department of Medicine, at the University of Utah School of Medicine. He is the Director of the Genitourinary Oncology Program in the Oncology Division, the Co-leader of the Urologic Oncology Multidisciplinary Program and the Associate Director of Clinical Trials (solid tumors) at the Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI).

As a specialist in adult hematology and oncology, Dr. Agarwal cares for patients with all types of cancer and specializes in genitourinary malignancies (cancers of the prostate, kidney, bladder and testes).

Dr. Agarwal is a member of several professional societies, including the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), the American Association of Cancer Research (AACR) and the Southwest Oncology Group (SWOG). After receiving his MD degree from All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi, India, Dr. Agarwal completed a residency in internal medicine and a fellowship in geriatric medicine at the University of Iowa. He then completed a hematology-oncology fellowship at HCI and the University of Utah School of Medicine.

Dr. Agarwal has received several awards and grants and has authored more than 100 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters. He has given talks at several prestigious regional and national forums, including the workshop at the National Institute of Health’s National Institute on Aging, Utah Urologic Society Annual meeting, and MD Anderson Cancer Center’s–sponsored oncology conferences. He serves as a panel member for the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) guideline- committees for bladder, kidney cancer and testicular cancer. Dr. Agarwal also serves as the national principle investigator and chair of a National Cancer Institute (NCI) funded multicenter phase III clinical trial for men with newly diagnosed metastatic prostate cancer. This trial is sponsored by SWOG, one of the largest National Cancer Institute’s (NCI) clinical trials group, and endorsed by all major groups in NCI Clinical Trials Network ( ECOG, CALGB etc.). This trial is expected to recruit more than 1500 men with newly diagnosed metastatic prostate cancer across the United States. In addition, he is the Principal Investigator (PI) for three investigator-initiated clinical trials for men with prostate cancer, along with being a site PI for multiple other industry and cooperative group trials.

Dr. Agarwal has the prestigious honor of being chosen as one of the five young investigators of the Southwest Oncology Group in 2009. He has been appointed as the leader of early therapeutics of the SWOG Genitourinary Cancer Committee in 2010. Dr. Agarwal is also the recipient of the prestigious 2009-2010 William D. Odell Young Investigator award from the University of Utah’s, Department of Medicine, and the 2014 Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award from the National Cancer Institute.